Egerton University (EGU)

Egerton University (EGU) is the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It was founded as a Farm School in In 1950, the School was upgraded to an Agricultural College offering diploma programmes. The Egerton Agricultural College Ordinance was enacted in 1955. In 1979, the Government of Kenya and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) funded a major expansion of the institution. In 1986, Egerton Agricultural College was gazetted as a constituent college of the University of Nairobi. The following year, 1987, marked the establishment of Egerton University through an Act of Parliament.


EGU is involved in:

SP3: Improving Soil Fertility Management

SP4: Assuring Postharvest Quality

SP8: Analysing Climate Change

SP9: Analysing Poverty and Coping

SP11: Improving Institutional Arrangements

SP12: Value Chain Strategies

SP14: Building Capacity